MY JOURNEY AS A DEVELOPER IN 2022 - Dev Retro 2022

It’s been a wild ride, but I can’t believe it’s already been a year since I started pursuing my journey as a Cyber Security enthusiast (RED TEAMING), AI & ML Engineer and Software Engineer in 2022 even though ever since I was born, there had already been a passion for technology. Everyone thought I’d become a doctor because I had this passion for helping other people, making sure everything and everyone was ok not because of self-righteousness or any mundane reasons, inside of me I understood that there was a passion and curiousness for technology but because I had this conviction of helping people. As I reflect on the challenges I faced, the lessons I learned the sleepless nights and of course the accomplishments I achieved, I can’t help but feel grateful for the opportunity to be part of such a dynamic and constantly evolving field.

Since I was a newbie in the field of technology, one of the biggest challenges I faced was learning how to navigate the ever-changing landscape of technology. As a developer, it’s important to stay up to date with the latest trends, with new tools, body of knowledge and frameworks constantly emerging, and that can be a daunting task. It can be overwhelming trying to stay up to date-and be relevant as a developer. However, I learned that it’s important to be proactive in learning and staying current, as it not only helps with job security but also allows for more opportunities for growth and advancement.

Another challenge I faced was finding the right balance between my personal and career life. As a developer, it’s easy to get caught up in the excitement of a new project or the thrill of solving a complex problem, but it’s important to remember to take care of oneself. I also learned the value of good communication and delegation, as working with a team to divide and conquer tasks proved to be more efficient than trying to do everything on my own.

Despite the challenges I faced, I am proud of the accomplishments I achieved in 2022. They were massive accomplishments I made in 2022 highlight was:

  1. Purchasing my first laptop and my android phone for programming

  2. Obtaining a scholarship for the Google Africa Developer Scholarship Programme.

  3. Getting accepted for the ALX programme

  4. Obtaining of some certs which includes;

    Basics of Python Programming

    Building Fake News Detection

    Building an AI virtual Assistance

    Comp TIA Security +

    Comp TIA A+

    Digital Nigeria on Security

    Cyber Security Training at Halogen Academy

    Building ChatBot

    Advanced Cyber Security

    Encryption

    Linux Bash Scripting

    Osint Cert

    Etc.

  1. Making contributions to Open Source Software (OSS) like Wikipedia

  2. Getting a job as a Network Engineer

  3. Etc.

I also had the opportunity to work on project that was personally meaningful to me ie. Surveillance Camera, ChatBot, Web Browser, GitHub Bot, Phone Tracker etc. The Phone tracker was actually inspired when I lost my phone, I know the depression I went through so I used my programming skills and made a phone tracker using python and seeing the positive impact it had on users was truly fulfilling.

As I looked back on my journey as a developer in 2022, I am grateful for the opportunities and experiences. For me, 2022 has been a year of growth and learning as a developer experientially. I am grateful for the challenges that pushed me out of my comfort zone and allowed me to learn and grow as a professional. I can’t wait to see what the next year brings as I continue on my journey as a developer.

#DevRetro2022

As I join the conversation and connect with other participating developers through the hashtag #DevRetro2022 campaign, I encourage other developers to reflect on their own journeys and share their experiences and reflections with the community. It’s always inspiring to see the diverse paths and accomplishments of other developers and I am grateful for the community that supports and uplifts each other in our careers. Here’s to a successful and fulfilling 2022 as a developer..!

QUOTES OF THE YEAR

The saddest aspect of life right now is that science gathers knowledge faster than society gathers wisdom. – Isaac Asimov

Man is still the most extraordinary computer of all. – John F. Kennedy

One machine can do the work of fifty ordinary men. No machine can do the work of one extraordinary man. – Elbert Hubbard

Cheers to #developers !

Cheers to #DevRetro2022 !!

Cheers to hashnode !!!